Coronavirus – Nigeria: Press release of the President’s Steering Committee of July 17, 2021 dated June 2, 2021

After confirming the delta variant of COVID-19 and the increasing number of infections and hospitalizations in the country, the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 (PSC), has six states and the federal capital territory (FCT) as part of the preventive measures against a third pandemic wave on red alert. The states are: Lagos, Oyo, Rivers, Kaduna, Kano, Plateau and the FCT.

The PSC, warns, however, that all states of the federation should increase their level of readiness in view of the known easier spread of the delta variant and continue to enforce all established protocols. These steps are vital as we are seeing worrying early signs of increasing cases in Nigeria.

The PSC will continue to minimize the risk of introducing worrying variants into the country by increasing surveillance at all entry points (POE) to enforce existing quarantine protocols and maintain current restrictive measures against travelers from India, Brazil, Turkey and South Africa.

The PSC congratulated with the Muslim Ummah on the occasion of the Eid-el-Kabir celebration. However, it urges all state governments and religious leaders to be aware of the potential for the virus to spread further at large gatherings. The PSCtherefore advises the following preventive measures for a safe Eid-el-Kabir celebration:

a) Decentralization of the Eid prayer to the Friday prayer mosques in the neighborhood (outdoors);

b) suspension of Durbar’s activities; and

c) Compliance with the restrictions for all indoor gatherings.

Nigerians and all residents are reminded to always stay safe.

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of the Nigeria Center for Disease Control (NCDC).

Nigeria Center for Disease Control (NCDC)
Download logo

Africanews provides its readers with content from the APO Group as a service, but does not edit the articles it has published.

Comments are closed.