Cricket South Africa finally has a president

Rihan Richards and Donovan May were unanimously elected President and Vice President of Cricket South Africa (CSA), respectively, at the annual general meeting on Saturday.

The Independent Director Nomination Panel appointed the following seven independent directors: Steven Budlender SC, Andrew Hudson, Dugmore Lushaba, Lawson Naidoo, Andisa Ntsubane, Mark Rayner and Muditambi Ravele, a CSA statement said.

The meeting was adjourned to next Wednesday evening when the eighth independent director and the chairman and members of the Audit and Risk Committee would be appointed.

The following non-independent directors were elected: Daniel Govender, John Mogodi, Craig Nel, Tebogo Siko and Simphiwe Ndzundzu.

The Chairman of the Board of Directors and the Lead Independent Director (LID) will be elected at the first meeting of the new Board of Directors.

The new CSA board is planning this year’s annual general meeting in September, as the matters dealt with on Saturday relate to the previous fiscal year, which ended in April 2020.

Price Waterhouse Coopers has been appointed independent auditor for the past fiscal year.

“It is important that we hold everyone accountable and do not take anything at face value without thorough interrogation,” said Richards at the annual general meeting.

“The challenge we face as leadership is to lead righteously, especially to advance the interests of CSA, to get ready to be the servants of the game and the nation, to continue to seek and promote what is right . Let’s keep reminding ourselves that it’s not about us, it’s about the game. “

Get all the IPL news and cricket score here

Comments are closed.