From France to Kenya: Here is a list of countries that have imposed bans to curb the spread of Covid-19

As Covid-19 cases increase worldwide due to new strains of the virus, many countries have reintroduced lockdowns to contain the spread. The situation got complex when several EU states said they would not use Oxford AstraZeneca’s Covishield vaccine because they feared the shocks could cause blood clots in their recipients.

When new mutations of the virus emerge, the only thing countries can do is to impose shutdowns to avoid repeating events a year ago.

Here is a list of the countries that have banned:

A woman waits on a deserted street in Paris as restaurants and shops are closed due to the lockdown. (AP)

France: Several European countries have reintroduced restrictions to combat the new wave of infections. Around 21 million people in 16 areas of France, including Paris, are currently under lockdown for months as the country fears a third wave. Prime Minister Jean Castex said it was the only possible way to address the emerging cases in the country.

Poland: In Poland, which has had the highest number of cases per day since November, new measures have resulted in non-essential shops and other facilities being closed for three weeks. “We are losing control of how the pandemic develops,” President Andrzej Duda said in parliament when he announced the lockdown.

Hungary: Hungary has also extended its Covid-19 restrictions from March 8th. Kindergartens and elementary schools will remain closed until April 7, all non-essential businesses will be closed for a period of two weeks, and services – excluding private health care – were suspended until the end of the month. While public areas and parks remain open, fitness centers and gyms have been closed. Employers were asked to allow their employees to work from home.

Covid-19 curfew Rome’s historic Trevi Fountain remains empty as the city is on lockdown to contain the spread of the novel coronavirus. (AP)

Italy: Italy is also struggling to tackle a rapid spike in Covid-19 cases, fueled this time by a new and more contagious variant. Much of the regions – including those that include Rome and Milan – have been classified as red risk areas by Health Minister Roberto Speranza, with all residents being encouraged to stay at home except for work, health or other essential reasons.

Belgium: Belgium has reintroduced strict lockdown measures in response to a worrying spike in new Covid-19 infections. The government said schools would be closing and residents would have limited access to non-essential businesses. Under the new rules, non-essential stores can remain open, but customers must book appointments to gain access. Hairdressers and beauty salons have to close again for four weeks.

Covid-19 curfew Barricades were erected in Marikina when the Philippine government ordered a lockdown in and around Manila. (AP)

Philippines: The Philippine government has also ordered a lockdown in and around Manila as the capital struggles with an increase in infections. “The virus is the enemy, not the government,” said President’s spokesman Harry Roque, announcing the week-long measure, which begins Monday. The Philippines reported 9,838 coronavirus cases on Friday, the biggest daily jump since the pandemic began.

📣 JOIN NOW 📣: The Express Explained Telegram Channel

Kenya: Similarly, Kenya also reintroduced the Covid-19 restrictions after the positivity rate rose to 22%, up from 20% since January. President Uhuru Kenyatta informed about the curbs in the capital Nairobi and the surrounding counties and said: “These counties are being declared individually and collectively as a disease-infected area. All movements by road, rail or air in and out of the disease infected areas as a zone area are stopped. “

Comments are closed.