India vs South Africa Women 1. ODI: When and where to watch, live streaming details, squads, updates

After a year-long absence from international cricket, the Indian women’s team will begin their preparations for the World Cup with an ODI series of five games against South Africa at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow.

The ODI series, which starts on Sunday, will be followed by three T20Is.

South Africa is slightly ahead of India in terms of preparation as the tour company played a home series against Pakistan in February.

India last played on March 8, 2020, the day they lost the T20 World Cup final to Australia.

SENA countries had ample playing time during the pandemic, but this Indian team needs to oil its gears to get back to full throttle.

ALSO READ: Mithali Raj: Shafali Verma is definitely on the radar for ODIs

Squad: who is there and who is not?

When the selection squad led by Neetu David announced the roster for the South Africa series, there was much thought to include medium rookie medium pacemakers C. Prathyusha and Monica Patel in place of veteran Shikha Pandey. Not only Pandey, but also spinner Ekta Bisht had been replaced in the 50-over squad by the youngster Yashik Bhatia.

However, the selection committee assured that this was done to test the team’s banking strength, which will be essential for the World Cup next year.

The Proteas women’s team will continue to miss the services of Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk and Masabata Klaas due to injuries.

ALSO READ: Women’s Cricket: When will Team India return to the field?

Full squad

India ODI squad: Mithali Raj (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice captain), D. Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma (wicket keeper), Swetha Verma (wicket keeper), Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, C. Prathyusha, Monica Patel.

India T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol, Sushma Verma (wicket keeper), Nuzhat Parveen (wicket keeper), Ayushi Soni, Arundhati Reddy Radha Yadav., Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, C. Prathyusha and Simran Dil Bahadur.

Squad in South Africa: Sune Luus (Captain), Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta, Tasmin Britz, Marizanne Kapp, Nondumiso Shangase, Lizelle Lee, Anneke Bosch, Faye Tunniclife, Nkululeko Mlab, Mign, Lara Goodall, Tumi Sekhukh.

Pitch talk

The Indian team have been training at Ekana Stadium for some time and Harmanpreet spoke positively of the pitch, hoping for a high-scoring encounter at the start of the series. Mithali preferred to wait and instead concentrate on preparations for the ICC ODI World Championship in New Zealand next year.

ALSO READ: India vs South Africa Women’s Series: Harmanpreet Looking Forward to Milestone Match

Crowd control

After the initial decision to run the series behind closed doors, the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association has confirmed that 10 percent of viewers will be eligible for the limited overs series between India and South Africa. Tickets cost Rs 200 and Rs 400 and will be available online at Paytm from March 6th.

Head-to-head record

India has a 7-2 win record against South Africa.

When and where are the games?

ODI series: March 7th, 9th, 12th, 14th, 17th

T20I series: March 20, 21, 23

Conference location: Ekana Stadium, Lucknow

Where can you see it

India Women vs South Africa Women ODIs will be broadcast live on Star Sports 2 (and HD) and Star Sports 3 (and HD). The ODIs India Women vs South Africa Women will also be streamed online on the Star Sports Network digital platforms.

You can also follow the coverage of the game from 9 a.m. live on Sportstar

Comments are closed.