Prenelan Subrayen among six uncovered players in the South African squad for West Indies Tests


Lizaad Williams, Kyle Verreynne, Keegan Petersen, Sarel Erwee and Marco Jansen also make up Dean Elgar’s line-up

The uncapped off-spinning all-rounder Prenelan Subrayen and the fast bowler Lizaad Williams, who recently made his T20I debut, were called up for the first time in the test squad of South Africa for the two-game series against the West Indies in St. Lucia in June. Kyle Verreynne, Keegan Petersen, Sarel Erwee and Marco Jansen are the other uncovered picks in the line-up of 19 led by Dean Elgar for the first time.

In the West Indies
June 10: 1st test
June 18: 2nd test
June 26: 1st T20I
June 27: 2nd T20I
June 29th: 3rd T20I
July 1st: 4th T20I
July 3rd: 5th T20I
All tests in St. Lucia, all T20Is in Grenada
In Ireland
July 11th: 1st ODI
July 13: 2nd ODI
July 16: 3rd ODI
July 20: 1st T20I
July 22nd: 2nd T20I
July 25th: 3rd T20I
The first four games in Malahide, the last two in Stormont

The white ball squads, now led by Temba Bavuma, for the West Indies and Ireland games were also announced and contained some surprises, keeping Sisanda Magala and Williams, who were bloody in the most recent series against Pakistan. A total of 19 players will travel to the Caribbean for the series of five T20Is, and Keshav Maharaj will then join the squad for the games in Ireland.

The 27-year-old Subrayen took third place in the list of wicket takers at the CSA Franchise 4-Day Cup 2020-21 with 19 hits in four games at an average of 18.89 and the best return of 6 for 24. That helped him, into a spin bowling pack that includes Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, and George Linde as spinners on the front lines.

“The Caribbean [South Africa are travelling there for a bilateral tour in 11 years] is known for its low and slow gates and we have made sure that we have selected the staff that is needed for all eventualities on this very important excursion, “said CSA Convenor of Selectors Victor Mpitsang in a press release.” While there are no (World Test Championship) points to play for, it is still vital for South Africa to achieve winning results through an ever growing and powerful cricket pipeline.

While the West Indies tour lasts from June 10th to July 3rd – initially two test matches, followed by five T20Is – the series of three ODIs and three T20Is in Ireland begins on July 11th and ends on July 25th.

“The historic tour to Ireland is critical to qualifying for the 2023 World Cricket Championship and preparing for the T20 World Championship later this year,” added Mpitsang. “This is the beginning of our journey to these trophies and we will have our very best teams on every tour.”

“The team has been in a rebuilding phase for some time, but we are satisfied that the return on investment will show sooner rather than later. We have to trust the process that has been set up and support our team in it.” find themselves and their way. These are really exciting times in South African cricket, with an exciting new leadership group determined to get the team back on the road to winning. “

Test: Dean Elgar (Capt), Temba Bavuma (Vice-Capt), Quinton de Kock (week), Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Peterson, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lizaad Williams, Prenelan Subrayen, Marco Jansen.

T20Is and ODIs: Temba Bavuma (Capt.), Quinton de Kock (week), Björn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj (only for Ireland), Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams.

Comments are closed.