USA, along with South Africa, imposes one other journey ban for European international locations

The US has again imposed travel restrictions on European countries. The move was made keeping in mind the increasing number of COVID-19 cases in these countries. Joe Biden’s government also added South Africa to the list after it was revealed that cases of infection with new strains of coronavirus had emerged. The travel ban for South Africa will apply from January 30th. Also read – Russia lifts travel bans from India, Finland, Vietnam and Qatar

In particular, the former President of the United States of America, Donald Trump, had already imposed travel restrictions on 26 European countries. However, the ban expired on January 26th. That is why President Joe Biden has now signed a new proclamation. He has extended the travel ban to Great Britain and Ireland along with 26 other European countries and Brazil. Also Read – Delhi Metro Issues New Guidelines For Travel Today; Entry and exit gates of these stations to remain closed

Speaking at a press conference, White House spokeswoman Jen Psaki said, “With the pandemic worsening and more contagious varieties spread, this is not the time to lift restrictions on international travel.” On the flip side, the U.S. government’s leading infectious disease expert Anthony S. Fauci said the ban will help prevent the mutated coronavirus from spreading. He said: “We are concerned about the mutation in South Africa. It’s significantly different and more threatening than the one in the UK. “

In particular, anyone traveling to the US is currently required to present a COVID-19 negative test report at the airport. The US has already started vaccinating its citizens, but the newly developed vaccine has been shown to be ineffective against the variant of the virus reported in South Africa and the UK. So enough precautions must be taken to minimize the rate of infection. And hopefully the new travel ban will be helpful in that regard.

Comments are closed.