Wade fell for a take a look at tour of South Africa

Matthew Wade was removed from the Australian test team to tour South Africa but will continue to represent his country after being named vice-captain of the Twenty20 team to tour New Zealand at the same time.

Wade was the big omission in the announcement of the double squad on Wednesday for the simultaneous tours. In shape South Australia wicketkeeper Alex Carey replaced him for the three-test tour next month.

The quick bowler Mark Steketee from Queensland is the other new face on the roster and deserves his first tour nod after the strong form of Sheffield Shield and BBL.

Travis Head was kept despite Wade placing him 5th for the last two Tests against India, while Tim Paine is said to be wearing the gloves after being kept as captain.

Wade was put in the unfamiliar role of opener to begin the Test series but received criticism for some loose layoffs when he completed 14 innings without half a century when India shocked the hosts to win the series 2-1.

Head will compete for the vacant middle-tier place with Moises Henriques and Carey, who beat a BBL century last week and could play as batsmen.

In the meantime, Aaron Finch will take over the T20 side for the five-game series against the Black Caps.

He will lead an 18-man squad that includes aspiring weirdo Tanveer Sanga and recovering fast bowler Jhye Richardson. It will not change regardless of the status of the South Africa tour, which continues to be subject to appropriate biosecurity regulations.

TESTQUAD: Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, and David Warner.

T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Matthew Wade (vc), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, D ‘Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye and Adam Zampa.

Comments are closed.